2nd XV Unbeaten run comes to an end

Inst 2nd XV v Queen’s 2nd XV Wednesday 14th December 2011

A cold and icy night meant that anyone travelling to the new Queen’s complex needed their ice skates for the car park and a map for the changing rooms then a sherpa to get to the pitch and wellies to stay dry.

Mr Leacock did he was does and the team warm up looked good, focussed and ready to get at them. This squad of players have been flying high despite positional changes and some good opposition however no game can be taken for granted…

The match started straight away and the intensity on both sides was obvious, good defence and determination on all 30 faces on the park. Queens coming from no form at all made it clear they were out to turn their season around and after twenty minutes it still looked like we were playing against ourselves.

The captain once again brought his lucky boots and when an opportunity came to notch up 3 points he took it and slotted a beauty. A tight game continued but dominance eluded us and silly errors cancelled out our progress and possession. It continued to be a tight came and in the end we beat ourselves, too many knock ons and penalties cost us vital yards time and time again. The pack battled hard to regain lost field position before we threw it away cheaply again and again, oh how frustrating. Queens kept their focus and were rewarded with a try for their efforts. By the half the lead had been stretched by another Queens try but was still only single figures and very much still a game we could win if only we could find another gear.

The second half was sadly the same as the first - moments of good building rugby punctuated with more bloody knock ons and cheap penalties. Queens realised that giant killing was possible and were duly motivated to battle on for their first win in months. Again we struggled to raise the intensity and lacked the ability to strike from set play and so inevitably we conceded a couple of late tries due to fatigue, a lack of focus and a very good Queens side who deserved the win.

Peter Steven

1 Ross Mungavin
2 Michael Mairs
3 Stephen Ferguson
4 Andrew Mairs
5 Gareth Short
6 Rory Sheard
7 Rab Brown
8 Mick McMurray
9 Nico Andress
10 Richard McCarthy (C)
11 Ryan Karayiannis
12 Alex Peckham
13 Paddy Bell
14 Richard Maguire
15 Epi Ratu